Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

A valuable lesson?

Yesterday was Saturday. The Sabbath. And even though I made a commitment a couple of weeks ago to NOT work on the Sabbath, I have a TON of work that is due by the end of tomorrow, at least 50 hours’ worth, and if I want any chance of a Christmas with my kids I need to get it done.

So I worked.

I’ll confess to feeling very conflicted about it before I got started, but I soldiered on regardless and spent the whole day behind my laptop. (I may do something similar today).

And guess what? It was an unmitigated disaster. I have seven things to finish in the next 36 hours. I managed to utterly break two of them. I don’t think I’ve ever had such a bad work day. At least, not in a very long time. Many years.

I don’t know what would have happened if I’d honoured my commitment to trust and obey God’s commandment about the Sabbath. I don’t know if I would have been supernaturally blessed, or finished everything perfectly, faultlessly and in record speed today. All I know is that NOT honouring that commitment definitely did not heap blessings on my head.

I am grateful that God is a God of second chances.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

