Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Getting enough sleep.

One thing I really battle with is getting enough sleep. Between home school, freelance work, house work and dawdling, I rarely get to bed before midnight. A big part of the problem is that, because I always go to bed so late, I always think I have time to get to urgent stuff “later”. I’ll just stay up until the work is done, or wake up early to meet deadlines.

This sometimes backfires, and I end up falling asleep before the work is done, or I oversleep and don’t get up in time. My clients are accommodating, my creditors less so: if I don’t work, I can’t bill. If I don’t bill, I don’t get paid, and then I can’t pay my bills.

As a result, I tend to be a stress-bound zombie, tired and overwhelmed by what I haven’t achieved yet.

Even so, I like the fact that I meet deadlines and will move heaven and earth to do so. Then my loving sister sent me the link to this site. (I guess she’s worried about my sleeping habits).

Apparently, lack of sleep leads to weight gain, heart disease, diabetes, stress, depression, risk of stroke and more. It’s even linked to cancer and Alzheimer’s disease. Working on a computer, doing house work or watching TV late at night are all stimulants that keep you up later and later, deplete melatonin levels and make a good night’s sleep harder and harder to achieve.

The solution, according to this article, is to:

  • Keep the bedroom for bedroom stuff, not stress stuff.
  • Have regular sleeping patterns every day of every week, to train your body.
  • Avoid all stimulants after dark. Does this include computers and TV, I wonder? Apparently it does include coffee and house work. How does anyone get a day’s work done?
  • Eat only light meals before  bed, and avoid carbs.
  • Make sure your room is as dark as possible. Even blinking lights on electronic devices pose a problem.

So I guess I’d better figure out a way to get enough sleep, somehow. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

