Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Times of Refreshing.

Acts 3:19b “… the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.”

Yesterday afternoon, DH, both DDs and I headed out to Karkloof, just past Howick, to spend some time with the Oikos team. I must admit that I was not in the best frame of mind as we headed up there. For one thing, I was pretty sure I was on the wrong track with my approach to home school education (thanks, Greg). I imagined that there was a LOT more planning to be done, and with my already crowded schedule I couldn’t imagine how I’d fit in more work. As I may have mentioned previously, I’ve been frustrated by the  feeling of aloneness on this journey, and I foresaw an embarrassing impasse at best.

What a pleasant surprise it was, and how lovely to have been so very wrong.

Sonja, Greg, Pam and Dave were kind, gentle, welcoming and encouraging. They gave us guidelines for every aspect of our home educating journey, from casting the vision for the family, to divvying up the work, to managing the practical aspects of day-to-day family life.

We came away feeling encouraged, refreshed and refocused. And hopefully we can now create a way forward for our family that actually works. I’ll keep you posted!

Comments on: "Times of Refreshing." (3)

  1. Grasshopper Girl said:

    So glad that you got some guidance!

  2. […] from on high have been the same: trust and obey. I first became aware of it last Wednesday, when we visited Oikos Home Base in the midlands. After a lot of talking it finally transpired that I have a […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

