Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

As long as I can remember I have wanted to be a missionary in Ethiopia. I’ve wanted to go to the Philippines and Argentina along the way, too. But really those three have always been tops, and especially Ethiopia. I don’t know why I do, but there it is. I never thought it would be easy or even that much fun. I thought it would be tough but very rewarding. Satisfying. Fulfilling. I imagined it would be easier with a like-minded partner at my side and a brood of eager, involved children with smiles to brighten the hard days. I assumed that getting married would answer some of the questions, because his shared passion for the things of God would validate mine.

Now, I think I was wrong. Today, 12 July 2012, I have officially lain those foolish, naïve, probably selfish pipe-dreams to rest. It’s not going to happen and I have finally accepted that my actual mission here is to stop it from happening. Ironic, no?

And to add to the irony, a friend shared this thought-provoking article on Facebook today. It really spoke to me, and reminded me of the importance of supporting our missionaries as much as we possibly can. And it broke my heart, but I think that may have been necessary.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

