Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Provisionally proud

A friend of ours (the mother of Goldilocks’ BFF) decided to home school her daughter this year, too. Their curriculum sticks very closely to government schools, and twice a year they write exams to see how the students are progressing. This kind lady thought I might be interested to see how Goldilocks was doing on our curriculum, as opposed t so-called regular schooling. She copied the exams and gave them to me, and we have been going through them together.

Today Goldilocks finished the first exam: English. I don’t know what the implications are of the fact that it took about twice as long to complete as the time allowed. They do make an allowance for that but since Goldilocks isn’t in their system, we don’t really understand how it works. However, my primary goal right now academically is that she be able to finish the work at all. And she did!

In fact, based on my very strict marking, she achieved 91.5%! I am provisionally super proud. I say provisionally, because I will find out how it’s supposed to work and all of that, and may need to adjust the marks accordingly. But what pleases me (and should probably worry me, too), is how vindicated I feel. It’s working! Yay! We’re right to home educate. What a wonderful blessing. Even though I know it’s what I should be doing, it’s also a relief to know that we’re on track, so-to-speak.

Here is the essay that made up the last part of the paper. This counts for 20 marks, and because of the spelling (what spelling?) and grammar, I have only awarded five marks. But I love it so much and will treasure it forever.

My Parents

My Parents, by Goldilocks – age 9&3/4
My mom is supportive, loving and kind. She’s also beautiful and snuggly and smart. My dad is clever, strong, caring, angry and cuddly. He is also handsome, hairy and quizitive.

10 July 2012.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

