Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

“When we walk with the Lord,
In the light of His Word,
What a glory He sheds on our way.

While we do His good will,
He abides with us still,
And with all who will trust and obey.

Trust and obey
For there’s no other way
To be happy in Jesus
But to trust and obey.”

When we step out in faith and obey the instructions we receive from God – from His Word, prayer, His people and circumstances – He blesses us by changing our hearts to match the Truth revealed in His Word.

I did not know that.

I have spent years and years feeling guilty about my lack of faith. I didn’t feel like I could or wanted to do the thing asked of me. Whether it was serving in my local church, obeying my husband, reaching out to a friend in need, honouring my parents, or any of a host of instructions so clearly laid out in God’s Word. And because I didn’t feel it, I wouldn’t do it. I’d think it would be hypocritical – an “act”, if you will.

Recently, with the help of a wise friend, I took a leap of faith and did as I was told. Sounds simple, but in reality it can be hard for to do. I was still convinced I would be a hypocrite and I wondered if I would ever get the feeling that would motivate me to do good works. I felt guilty about not feeling motivated, and that led to a kind of low-grade despondency and a lack of joy.

Then, the most amazing thing happened. After taking that step of faith, performing the righteous “act” required of me, I was amazed to find that my heart followed suit! Within a very short time, I actually felt what I should have felt. Resentment, bitterness. anger, malic, unforgiveness … they all dissolved away. My devotions became easier, my joy soared.

What an amazing gift from our gracious Lord, who works in our hearts both to will and to do of His good pleasure. (Phil. 2:13)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

