Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Job’s comfort

If you’re reading the Bible chronologically this year, then by now you’d have read up to the end of Genesis 11. and Job chapters 1-23.

The book of Job comforts me. When I had been feeling the pain of our situation (indebted and struggling to make ends meet some months), I wondered why God had allowed it, and what could be done to fix it. What sin had I committed?

My reasoning was that if I have confessed all known sin, repented, sought His will, changed my ways, forsaken all evil in my life and sought only truth why would we still be battling this way. (Of course, that doesn’t mean I had forsaken all evil and sought only truth, but I was hypothesising and doing my best).

However, the book of Job reminds me that it may be that I am not the problem. In fact, it is naive, immature and self-centred to assume persistently that I am the cause of all the trials we face.

It could be that someone else’s sin or personal growth is the cause for our straits when they occur. In that case, my role is to be patient and rejoice in the Lord always.

Or it could be that this is a test –

James 1:3-4 “Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.”

In that case, my role is to be patient, and to rejoice in the Lord always.

God is just and faithful. He NEVER lets us down, and I should never let Him down, either. Because

Job 23:10 “But He knoweth the way that I take; When He hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

