Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Balancing act

The current theme of my life is “Being Tired”. I keep meaning to get more sleep, and I keep failing to do so. We’re still experimenting with unschooling, although currently it looks more like a splash of maths, a sprinkle of Terry Pratchett, and a health dollop of no ruddy school at all. And still nothing seems to get done. It feels like I am wading through treacle blended with tar. On a hot day. In the desert. I hope the girls are learning something from the YouTube National Geographic channel, at least.

In short: not balancing too well at the moment.

Comments on: "Balancing act" (2)

  1. sage_brush said:

    I appreciate your ambition to unschool – but have you ever considered going the curriculum route? Having all the lessons planned out, and the security of knowing we were on track was very helpful to me – as I am somewhat of a perfectionist. The curriculum we used from http://www.abekaacademy.org covered everything, and I mean – EVERYTHING!

    Some of the moms I know, didn’t like it because it was so “rigid,” and “strict.” (their words, not mine) But that was exactly the kind of structure that I can work with – being the kind of person I am. (not exactly uptight, but I like things to go smoothly, if you get my meaning) The structure, was freeing! Because I did not have to worry – we only had to work. That part is easy if you have built in discipline (which I think you do.)

    • Joy on a Shoestring said:

      Thanks for the comment. We have gone that route before. I am more like that, but my family is not. We struggled for nearly a year and a half, and it was very unpleasant. This way works better for all of us, I just need to learn to prioritise

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

