Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Space Invaders

Heb. 13:5 “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

At the moment, I am really battling with contentment – or at least, the lack thereof. I won’t pretend that I don’t want to be rich; I do. But that’s not the problem. If I could consistently pay my bills with my income, while at the same time occasionally having some down time (or even just a little sleep), that would suit me fine.

No, the problem is being content with such home as I have.

I’ve been trying to work out why it should be that living in this little cottage is driving me crazy. Because really, living here makes a lot of sense.

The Benefits of Down-Sizing

  • It’s very easy to clean up: there just isn’t that much space for mess to accumulate.
  • It’s cheaper than anywhere we’ve lived before.
  • It’s close to everything.
  • Our landlord lives right next door, and the family is very nice.
  • It’s a cute little cottage with potential to be made very cute indeed.

So what’s the problem? It’s a no-brainer, staying here.

Well, today I figured it out. I have no space that’s just mine! We’ve converted our bedroom into an office, and as many as four of us work in there on any given day. Most days, I work in the dining room, which is also the classroom. The kitchen is right across from me, and the garage (which is behind me) is also the laundry, craft room, workshop, and storage hole.

Every day, we unpack our lives onto the various surfaces, live our lives a little bit, pack up so that we can live the next bit (say, for instance, a meal), and then start again. Every night, everything needs to be packed out of the way, and every morning it’s unpacked again. There’s no sense of getting into the swing of a project and being able to pick up where you left off. And not a single surface in the house is exclusively my domain.

Now that I know what it is that’s driving me crazy, it’s easier to accept it and deal with it. But I do wish for a bigger house – maybe one with a room dedicated to school, a room dedicated to our business, and maybe (just maybe) DOORS! Who knew interior doors were so very vital?? Oh yes – and more than one bathroom.

Comments on: "Space Invaders" (2)

  1. sage_brush said:

    I understand your discomfort with your situation. Believe me. But – you could have the other extreme – like I do! I have a HUGE house. It was all very well when all of my children were living at home, (division of labor) as well as an invalid uncle in my care. But now, he has passed away, and my “helpers” are moving out!

    It takes three full hours every day to keep this house looking good – not including laundry, cooking, baking, and gardens. . . just imagine having to spend a half hour each day just pruning ivy away from the windows. Sigh. . .

    We can be consumed by worldly concerns. My too big house, your too small one. Who knows if either of us would be happier in another situation? As I told one of my students who was complaining vociferously about our commander in chief – if God has the power to strike dead a man who mistakenly touched the Ark of the Covenant – He has all power and authority to raise up, or cast down, a president, or any other king. He also has full power to change my circumstances – but it is clear to me that I am where He wants me to be right now.

    You can feel like you are in a prison – even in a mansion. You could even be in bondage to your house! We must strive to cast all our cares upon Him, and have Him be our sole sustainer. I earnestly pray that you will get some “breathing room,” soon, dear one. But bear in mind, that our sojourn on this earth is a drop in the proverbial bucket of time, compared to eternity with our Creator Redeemer. Thank you, Jesus.

    Galatians 6:8-10

    King James Version (KJV)

    8 For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

    9 And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

    10 As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.

    • Joy on a Shoestring said:

      Very true.There’s a lot to recommend where we are now, and a lot I could do to make it perfect.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

