Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Seeking a Sabbath

I’ve written before on the topic of a Sabbath, and applying it to my life in terms of the quest for peace. I realise more and more (as I get more sleep!) through the gentle help of kind friends both online and offline that I have been missing the point.

GotQuestions.org is a useful resource, and has this to say on the subject:

The apostles met and discussed the issue in the Jerusalem council (Acts 15). The decision was, “It is my judgment, therefore, that we should not make it difficult for the Gentiles who are turning to God. Instead we should write to them, telling them to abstain from food polluted by idols, from sexual immorality, from the meat of strangled animals and from blood” (Acts 15:19-20).

Read more:http://www.gotquestions.org/Sabbath-keeping.html#ixzz2UfWIqleU

I also found this article useful, particularly as it highlights the following scripture:

“Let us therefore fear, lest, a promise being left us of entering into his rest, any of you should seem to come short of it. For unto us was the gospel preached, as well as unto them: but the word preached did not profit them, not being mixed with faith in them that heard it. For we which have believed do enter into rest, as he said, As I have sworn in my wrath, if they shall enter into my rest: although the works were finished from the foundation of the world. For he spake in a certain place of the seventh day on this wise, And God did rest the seventh day from all his works. And in this place again, If they shall enter into my rest.” (Hebrews 4:1-5)

What struck me the most is that the apostles in Acts 15 didn’t command the keeping of the Sabbath, so who am I to do so? Surely, if it should have been “kept”, they’d have said so?

Ah, peace.

Comments on: "Seeking a Sabbath" (1)

  1. sage_brush said:

    When I was a baby Christian – I somehow came under the idea that I needed to keep the Law. (likely initiated by the evil one) As I matured in Christ, even scrubbing the floor on my hands and knees became “restful.” It all had to do with the condition of my heart, and where my thoughts were focused.

    Years ago I read in a Mennonite ladies magazine, called “Keepers at Home,” an article called – “Bless or Impress?” The gist of it was, who am I doing all this for? Myself? Or Him? I was forced to take a long, hard, look at my motivation. It turned out that deep down inside, I was very concerned about impressing others. And it didn’t matter in what area. The desire to excel – indeed – EXCEED – everyone – was a part of my sinful nature.

    To this very day, every day, I need to beat my pride into submission, as if it were a rabid dog. Unfortunately, my rabid, murdering, dog only shrinks in size – but it’s always there – chained up in the back yard of my mind, waiting to grow bigger if I feel sorry for it, and feed it a little. I am grateful for this struggle, however, as it only instills an intense longing for the Savior’s return, and freedom from my sinful flesh.

    Romans 7:14-16

    King James Version (KJV)

    14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin.

    15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.

    16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

