Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Adversity vs Adventure

Life happens. Some parts of it are awesome. Some parts of it are awful. A lot of it is just average. The only thing we can control is our response to the trials we face. We can choose to be bitter in the face of adversity, or we can choose to be brave in the face of adventure.

Adversity Adventure
“This old car is such a trial! It’s broken and falling to pieces. It’s old and dangerous and costing me money!” “Hey kids! Let’s have an adventure! We’ll tie the car up with string and chewing gum. Does someone have the spare oil?”
“This cottage is so small and cramped. I have no personal space. It’s always crowded. I just want a place we actually fit into!” “I love this little place. It’s so easy to clean. It’s cosy and homely. It’s central to everything. And it sure keeps the expenses down.”
“I wish I had more money and more stuff! It’s so unfair that I always have to make do.” “I am content. I am blessed with opportunities to develop contentment every day. And I have no choice but to learn to be organised. That gives me peace.”

My almost domestic life recently posted this enlightening post on what really matters. Desi, the author of the blog, quotes passages and phrases from a book that impacted her life deeply. The book has had a similar impact on my life, although I am more prone to forget it’s truths than Desi is. The book is called Tortured for Christ, by Richard Wurmbrand.

The quotes that really struck home and reminded me of what matters, and how important perspective truly is, are:

“God will judge us not according to how much we endured, but how much we could love.”

and

“If a poor man is a great lover of music, he gives his last dollar to listen to a concert. He is then without money, but he does not feel frustrated. He has heard beautiful things. I don’t feel frustrated to have lost many years in prison. I have seen beautiful things. I myself have been among the weak and insignificant ones in prison, but have had the privilege to be in the same jail with great saints, heroes of faith who equaled the Christians of the first centuries. They went gladly to die for Christ. The spiritual beauty of such saints and heroes of faith can never be described. The things that I say here are not exceptional. The supernatural things have become natural to Christians in the Under­ground Church who have returned to their first love.”

In our trials, we are refined. Trials? Hah! How can I claim to face trials of any kind when I read the stories of brave men and women like Richard and Sabina Wurmbrand? I hard face ruffles on the calm surface of the tranquil pond that is my life.

And I thank God for that.

– By Vanessa Davies – daily discovering Joy on a Shoestring.

Do you choose to find the adventure hiding in your trials? Is it sometimes too much to ask? Let me know your thoughts – and that I’m not alone in this. Am I the only crazy person who sees the world this way?

Comments on: "Adversity vs Adventure" (2)

  1. Thank you for your kind words! I have always thought it was incredible how even the smallest thing, the slightest turn of a phrase can make such a difference in someone’s life.{that must be why I sit at this desk writing all day! LOL!} I’m glad that I’m not the only one who’s crazy {?} enough to find everyday wisdom in such a great book!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

