Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

A sense of perspective

This week I’ve been talking about how we work, and why it works for our family. Today I thought it would be really useful to start recording what we’re doing each day. This is really more for me than for my longsuffering audience, so please don’t feel obliged to read it if it doesn’t interest you. I promise not to be offended 😉

Today, instead of using Brainrush for French, we went back to lesson 1 of JeFrench, and watched it again. It’s really exciting to see how the girls’ accents and understanding have progressed over the course of this year.

For History, we watched the hilarious (to me, anyway) first episode of the Crash Course in History. Since we’ve already watched the entire Andrew Marr‘s History of the World series, and made some significant progress through the living books we’re reading that cover History, this was more of a review, and a contextualisation – and very useful for both.

We also watched rather a lot of Simon’s Cat (*blush*) – but since that included an overview of how Simon Tofield illustrates his series, I felt it was educational as well.

The girls read their books, and we spent some time on Khan Academy. At the moment, both of them love the money-related sums on Khan Academy, and Goldilocks is doing extremely well with area and plotting points on a graph. Red is great at multiplication word sums, though she claims to hate them.

My favourite part of the day, though, was watching this video, which really gives us a wonderful sense of perspective. I found I both had a sense of awe at the awesomeness of the universe, and a sense of the importance of conserving what we have – both the natural resources, and the relationships that make us who we are.

While I blog, my angels are making a salad, and while we eat I’ll read The Princess and Curdie to them. I haven’t decided yet if we’ll go for a walk, since we’re having friends over, and the clouds are menacing. We shall see. We may well end up making notebooks instead.

And that’s a wrap!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

