Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

I make my living online. I’m one of those lucky few who could definitely justify a T-Shirt blaring the news that “I get paid to be on Facebook – what’s your excuse?”. I used to love it.

Now? Not so much.

I feel as though I am constantly connected, plugged in, switched on. As I try to juggle the effects of fibromyalgia and adrenal fatigue, more and more I just want to unplug. I am enormously attracted to a more connected-to-the-earth way of life; one that includes growing our own vegetables, keeping chickens and harvesting our own eggs, and even having bees and collecting our own honey. I’d love to be rested and rewarded after a day’s hard slog in my own garden, feeding my family and teaching my children all the time. I’d love to be making our own – well, everything. From the house to the hydroponics system to our clothes and every part of the food we eat. And what we can’t make ourselves, we trade for. I even want an outhouse. (I know!)

Very high-tech, right? Umm … not so much.

I can’t explain it in clear words, because I certainly am not a technophobe. I love technology and all that it does for us. I love working with it, understanding it, using it and sharing it. I love helping people make the most of the technology at our disposal. I enjoy watching my children use it and learn from it and understand it.

And I want to switch it all off.

In particular, I want to turn off social media. It is so useful and valuable and distracting and false. And it keeps me from the things in my life that matter. This is so true of my life that I am very seriously considering boycotting Facebook altogether, except for strictly client-related work.

This video caught my attention and highlighted the problem I have with social media: it offers an artificial connectedness to replace the deeper communication of which our increasingly desk-bound lives rob us.


The Innovation of Loneliness
from Shimi Cohen on Vimeo.

What do you think about “living online” and the effect of social media on our lives? Does it help or hinder your personal growth? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

