Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

“Everything happens for a reason.”

I can still hear my mother’s voice resonating in the deepest recesses of my brain, telling me that, even if things look bleak right now, one day it will all make sense.

I heard it when we were told we couldn’t have kids. We decided to adopt, and I knew the reason we couldn’t have kids was to give a forever home to a child in desperate need. (Incidentally, I still believe that. Perhaps the experience opened our minds to the possibilities).

I heard it when we moved 600km from everything I’d ever thought of as “home”.

I heard it when I had miscarriages, and later when I had my tubes tied.

And I heard it when we had to close our business. That day, I heard it like this:

Everything happens for a reason, but sometimes the reason is that you’re stupid and make bad decisions.”

It made me laugh. And it made me think.

Because everything does happen for a reason. And even if the reason a thing has happened to you is because you made a bad decision or a weak assumption, that makes it no less of a learning experience than an expensive semester at a University.

You see, the reason things happen – the reason anything happens – the reason EVERYTHING happens – is to make us more aware. Every moment, every experience, is an opportunity for reflection and growth.

Everything happens to teach us. Our job is to learn.

everything happens for a reason

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

