Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

"Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower." - Albert Camus

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.”
– Albert Camus

Where we live, April and May are Autumn months. Branches heavy with berries droop invitingly into our garden, luring deeply shaded birds to come and dance for our amusement.

These months are as heavily burdened with holidays as they are with fruit and birds and fat, lazy bugs. I sometimes think the months of April and May were politically wrangled to asphyxiate small businesses and home schooling families.

When I was a little girl, I loved the holidays. I loved learning, of course, but I always enjoyed the opportunity to do it at my own pace, in my own clothes, and in my own space. Now that I get to do that every single day, the shiny sheen of “days off” has tarnished and I crave predictable, repeatable routine. It acts like splints, keeping broken bones together, upright, in place.

Ah, routine. Predictable. Repeatable. Comfortable.

I know what you’re thinking about comfort zones, but when things fall apart, comfort zones can be very comforting.

Very comforting indeed.

Perhaps in the bleak midwinter lurking just around the next corner, a ray of comforting, familiar, warm routine will poke its cosy light into the grey every day.

We shall see.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

