Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

I am a workaholic.

I validate my existence with work. Be it home educating the girls, washing the dishes, or earning a living.

If I don’t work, I don’t feel that I have any worth. None at all.

Since I no longer have bosses or a management structure of any kind to confer worth upon the work I do in the form of praise, positive assessments, awards, promotions or bonuses, the only measurement tool I have is money. If I work hard enough, if the work I do is good enough, I will get paid. If I get paid, I have worth.

If not, I don’t.

While my head tells me that, logically, this is folly, the rest of me blunders on.

I need to work.

Work supercedes every other thing I need to do – family, friends, social commitments, health, sleep – everything is secondary to my secret obsession. Except it’s not so secret.

I have no idea how to break the cycle.

Any suggestions?

Comments on: "Confessions of a workaholic" (2)

  1. I feel the same way!
    If I don’t have work to do, I feel useless and depressed. It’s not so bad tho, it means I am motivated to be productive 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

