Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Coffee. Productivity in a cup. Well, mug. Well - pot, really.

Coffee. Productivity in a cup. Well, mug. Well – pot, really.

Let’s recap the detox: Day 3 started badly. We both ached from head to toe and sported pounding headaches, rank breath and scratchy throats. Our voices were croaky, and clean teeth and fresh water did little to improve matters.

Faced with a large, greasy breakfast, I felt ill and battled to finish it. In fact, I couldn’t, and gave my excess bacon to Goldilocks. Who even knew there was such a thing as excess bacon?? Staggering out of bed late, we were only eating breakfast by 8:30, and I doubt we even made it to 9AM before I caved and made us coffee. Bulletproof, of course.

Oh. My. Word. Sweet hot ambrosia that wipes away the pain and badness of – well, everything. I confess that I chased the first delicious cup with a second, and then everything was right with the world. Armed with confidence, energy and a clean(ish) intestine, the girls and I tackled the mammoth task of sorting out their rooms. Not only did we tidy them – we switched the beds from one to the other, and threw away an entire bin bag’s worth of debris! And it only took us three hours – unaided by male assistance, I hasten to add.

It was amazing.

Then I made lunch, went shopping, got some work done, and we spent some family time huddled around the TV, watching Chuck. As you do. Red Riding Hood has decided to become a spy. Obviously. I think the role would suit her. She can be enigmatic if she wants to. And black certainly looks great on her.

Work was so much easier, since I had a clear brain and could focus on what was most important, and what needed to be done next.

We had our customary, doctor approved cheat of tiny avos and small amounts of biltong in the mid afternoon, but by seven o’clock we’d caved utterly. I guess it’s my fault for making what is arguably the best ever crustless quiche. Or maybe just the best food starving people have ever tasted. And yes, I know. We were hardly starving. We were weak and yielded easily to the temptation of the overfed.

Sunday morning was a doddle. We woke up refreshed and energised, ready to tackle a caffeine-fueled day, and be awesome. A big breakfast (with coffee) was followed after Church by raw nut and dried fruit bars from DisChem. Lunch comprised absolutely amazing omelettes, stuffed with fied onions, sautéed mushrooms and delicious cheese. And supper was chicken stew cum bone broth and boiled / steamed veg.

All in all, it was delicious, and we certainly feel cleaner and more focused. Papa Bear can concentrate better than ever (except the last time he did SCD with us); his mood is better, and he’s lost 4kg! (I, on the other hand, lost nothing, and made no progress whatsoever towards sorting out my little problem. Which, frankly, is so disheartening that I’m thinking of seeing a doctor.)

Last night I sat and made a comprehensive list of what I need to achieve this month. It’s doable, and having it all laid out in front of me makes me feel confident that I can and will achieve it, and that it’s manageable, rather than overwhelming. Which is definitely what I felt before I did that.

I’ll write a separate post on the Elexoma.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

