Home business, home education and health challenges: what makes us tic?

Here we are on Day 4. Yesterday I complained that my digestion seemed to have stalled. Well, it’s fixed! It’s the best it’s been in four years, which – well, it’s hard to explain just how huge that is.

My skin on day 4 of recovering from a coconut/nut allergy reaction

My skin on day 4 of recovering from a coconut/nut allergy reaction

My skin is improving every day, and the ulcers and blisters everywhere else are much better, too.

Also, my headache has improved no end.

I have to confess that I did not go to Pilates this morning. For one thing, I only stopped work at 1AM, and the prospect of getting up at 5AM was more than I could manage. But also, the aching around my right ovary, while improving, is not actually better. And Pilates makes it worse.

I have a cunning plan, though. I will either unearth my Pilates DVDs or find a good YouTube Pilates channel, get up early every morning, and do it here. Then I should get stronger, and maybe in a month or so I can go back.

Because I’m back to eating clean, obviously sugar is off the list. And dairy. And with them, chocolate.

A life without chocolate is chaos.

So yesterday I had no choice but to make brownies. As you do.

If you’ve been here a while, you’ll know that I’m a HUGE fan of Chocolate Covered Katie, and her no-bake brownies are The Bomb! Since I can’t have nuts, though, I had to improvise. I have tried a range of seed substitutes, but actually the best solution was what I did last night: simple sunflower seeds.

This is the easiest recipe ever, and these chocolatey heavenly squares of goodness are the most amazing snack/soul food ever.

sugar-free dairy-free gluten-free vegan browniesHere’s my variation of Katie’s no-bake gluten-free sugar free dairy-free low-carb vegan brownies of awesomeness

Ingredients:

  • 250g dates, soaked in black filter coffee for 20 – 30 minutes
  • 1 cup of sunflower seeds, thoroughly smooshed in the blender
  • 6 tablespoons of cocoa
  • 2 tsp unsweetened brewed black filter coffee (because coffee)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional – I’m not a fan personally)

Method:

  • Blend everything together until it makes a smooth paste (and, as an aside, can someone please donate me a totally awesome blender than smooshes the living daylights out of seeds and dates?)
  • Line a baking tray with wax paper.
  • Spread the smooshed goodness you’ve just created all over the wax paper.
  • Exercising every ounce of self-control you can muster, leave the mixture in the fridge for two hours to firm up.
  • Cut it. Serve it*. Eat it.

*Note: serving does not imply sharing. Just saying.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

