Why is there evil in the world?

Why is there evil in the world?

Why do people die? Why do people live in poverty, face disease, endure famine and persecution and torture and war and death? Why do bad things happen to good people? Why do bad things happen at all? 

I misheard the question. 

In the instant it was asked, I saw myself standing before God. The God Who made the universe. The King of heaven and earth. 

The Righteous Judge. 

And I wasn’t in His throne room – that beautiful hall of light and worship. 

I was in His courtroom, facing His seat of judgment. 

And He was asking me

“With so many of My people on the earth, why does injustice flourish? You serve the Living God – why do you do nothing? I left you there to fix it. I appointed you to take care of My earth – to keep safe My plants and My animals and My precious, precious people. 

Why do you do nothing?”

I fell to my face. I could say nothing. I had no defence. 

We have no defence. 

Many resisting the gentle tug of the Holy Spirit on their dry, hard, brittle hearts throw this question at the feet of the mighty God like a gauntlet. 

“If God is so good, why do children get molested? If God is so good, why do people get murdered? Why do wars happen? How can He allow disease?” 

They conclude that either He doesn’t exist… Or He’s not actually good. 

But He does exist. And He is so, so good. 

That’s why He gave the world us, and every social justice warrior brother or sister in Christ that we recruit. 

The world should be a better place because of us and His light in us. 

Is it?

And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here I am! Send me.”

– Isaiah 6:8

Why is there evil in the world?

Leave a comment